Teaser Thursday: Taming His Mercenary

“Fancy meeting you here.” Elliot said as he came to his table. “Mind if I join you?”

“No not at all.”

“So how’s your day going?” Elliot asked with a smile.

“It’s going; and yours?” Rick replied as he waved the waitress back over.

“It’s going. Have you talked to your best friend?”

Rick had hoped Elliot would have forgotten what he told him, but that was something kind of hard to forget.

“Yeah. He said he wanted to stay friends.”

“Ouch,” Elliot said with a chuckle.

“Tell me about it. Look, I don’t think we should go to dinner. I don’t want you to feel like I’m using you.”

“You can use me anytime you want.” Elliot said with a wink, then turned to the waitress to give her his order.

“No really-“

“I wasn’t kidding this morning when I told you I can be the guy to help you forget. What do you have to lose?”

He was right, Christian didn’t want him, and there was a man sitting in front of him who did. What did he have to lose?

“Okay, I’ll go.”

It wasn’t like Rick had been a monk, but he always compared the people he was with to Christian. He wasn’t doing that with Elliot, maybe if he succeeded in making him forget his love for Christian then they could be friends again.

“Do you have any plans for today?” Elliot asked after their food had been delivered.

“No. My boss gave me the day off.” Rick answered before he took a bite of his food.

“What is it you do?”

This was the tricky part. Did he tell Elliot now, and risk him walking away or later on down the line have Elliot try to get him to change his profession.

“I’m a mercenary.”

“Really. That’s not something you hear every day; interesting.” Elliot had a gleam in his eye as he spoke.

“I think so.”

“Hey, if you love what you do, keep doing it.” Elliot replied as he pushed his empty plate away.

Rick let out a sigh of relief. This might work. “What do you do for a living?”

“Nothing as interesting as you, that’s for sure. I’m a real estate agent.”

“I never would have guessed that.” Rick said with a chuckle.

“I can say the same for you. Well… maybe not. The bad ass look is good on you.”

“I won’t deny that I can handle myself.”

“I have to head out of here. I’m showing a house today. Text me later?” Elliot asked as he stood and placed some money on the table.

“You can count on it.”

Rick watched as Elliot left the diner. He was actually excited about his date tomorrow. Which was odd, because he never would have looked twice at anyone before. Now that he knew where he stood with Christian, there wasn’t anything holding him back. Except his pesky heart. Waving his hand to get the waitress’ attention, he paid the bill and he left for home. He didn’t need to spend the day away after all, and it was mainly thanks to Elliot.

Copyright © Vanessa Sims, 2015

Leave a Reply

