Marriage Equality

Hello wonderful people. Most of you don’t know me on a personal level, but I keep to myself. I rarely say anything about others people opinions because you know it’s their opinion, even if I don’t agree with them.

Today something wonderful happened, LGBT has the right to marry in all 50 states. And why shouldn’t they?  What is the definition of marriage. I’ll tell you what dictionary.com says:

Marriage: (broadly) any of the diverse forms of interpersonal union established in various parts of the world to form a familial bond that is recognized legally, religiously, or socially, granting the participating partners mutual conjugal rights and responsibilities and including, for example, opposite-sex marriage, same-sex marriage, plural marriage, and arranged marriage.

My definition of marriage is spending your life with the person you love the most. Supporting them through the bad times and laughing and smiling with them during the good times. Or lets say you get hurt, or severely ill, you would want the person you spend your life with day in and day out to be able to make a life altering decision on your behalf because they know what your wishes are on the matter. Marriage to me is waking up and seeing the same face over and over again and knowing that deep down that, that person loves you and wants what’s best for you.

Why should it matter what is going on in the next man’s home? Do you live with them? Does their decision to love and marry someone effect you in anyway? So again, why does it matter what they are doing?

What matters in all of this is love. And who wouldn’t want to say “yes this is my husband,” or “yes this is my wife.” No matter what gender they are that is saying it.

I saw today on my newsfeed someone put that ‘gay marriage shouldn’t be called marriage.’ Again what is your definition of marriage because I know what mine is.

*Takes deep breath.* That is all. #LoveisLove #LoveConcursAll #MarriageEquality #LoveWins

Love-is-love-blog-picture

Leave a Reply

